Velvet Is On My Mind

   
Carven via style.com

As we get deeper into Fall, I can say it’s nearly acceptable for me to bring out the velvet. A trend we’ve been seeing up and down the runway this season, has recently made its debut in my heart. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve truly always loved velvet, I just kind of pushed it aside until now.  You have to keep in mind that I live in Miami, FL and I can’t just throw it on whenever I feel like it. I mean, I could, but it’s 80º outside.

You’ve seen many types of velvets this this Fall, such as those by  Dolce & Gabbana, Gucci, Lavin, Rachel Zoe. . . .But I must say these clean and simple looks by Carven make velvet look timeless. In comparison to, in example;  Emporio Armnai, who used velvet in a much more complicated way, the looks above will be in today as well as tomorrow. Who knows, you might get 12 months out of one of these .

If you’re not an experienced fashion risk taker I suggest you take this route in terms of what velvet you should buy into. Making something look good is about carrying it with confidence. Velvet is often dramatic in itself, so toning it down with a classic silhouette  is a good idea.

Now for the biggest dilemma of my week – I’m completely  torn on whether my readers prefer to read about High Fashion or are they more interested in Trendy & Edgy? So My solution is the following, I will show you both aspects of fashion; the $50 way and the $3000 way.

Look out  for my next post, where I will discuss a different side of velvet.

One thought on “Velvet Is On My Mind

So, what did you think?

